The innovation engine for new materials

News & Announcements

April 2022

Please join us in congratulating Professor Angela Pitenis for being awarded one of the 2022 Margaret T. Getman and William J. Villa Service to Students Awards.
In honor of the former UCSB Dean of Student Residents, Margaret T. Getman, and the former Director of...
Please join the MRL in congratulating Professor Joan-Emma Shea (Chemistry & Biochemistry, and Physics & IRG-3) for her election to Membership of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The American...

February 2022

Please join the MRL in congratulating our CAMP students who received award for their research presentations at the recent 2022 CAMP Statewide Symposium.

Special Merit in Research - Life & Biological Sciences:

  • ...

January 2022

Congratulations to MRL Faculty receiving 2022 NSF Career Awards:

Raphaële Clément (Materials, IRG-2): High-Resolution NMR for Paramagnetic Sodium Electrodes
John Harter (Materials, MRL- Seed): Search for Odd-Parity Superconductivity through Proximate...

December 2021

Congratulations to Tresa Pollock (IRG-1) being elected as Membre D'honneur of the Société Française de Métallurgie et de Matériaux.

September 2021

Please join the MRL in congratulating Vojtech Vlcek, Assistant Professor in
the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry and MRL Seed faculty for
having lead a successful proposal to the DOE for one of five projects
focusing on "on...
Please join the MRL in congratulating Dr. Juan Chamorro, for being awarded
one of the inaugural Mathematical and Physical Sciences Ascending
Postdoctoral Research Fellowship (MPS-Ascend) from the National
Science Foundation (NSF).

June 2021

Every year our ScienceLine recognizes our outstanding answerers in the different fields of science. Today the MRL is very glad to share with you the names of our ScienceLine award winners for the school year 2020-2021, and also the names of faculty...

April 2021

MRL graduate students George Degen and Sam Teicher have been
selected as two of the 21 UC President’s Lindau Nobel Laureate
Meetings Fellows (from the 10 UC campuses):
IRG-1 Graduate student Jayden Plumb has been selected to receive
one of 78 U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science Graduate
Student Research (SCGSR) fellowships. He is co-advised by Stephen
Wilson and...